In 1941, C.H. & E.A. Snyder Excavating began as a small construction company between Charles H. Snyder, Sr. and his younger brother Elmer A. Snyder. Over the next several years, the Snyder brothers continued to pursue civil construction projects in west central Pennsylvania, utilizing their first piece of equipment, a P&H 150 shovel.
During World War II the funding for infrastructure construction projects was greatly diminished. With the possibility of having an idle fleet of equipment, Chuck Sr. and Elmer recognized that the WWII effort was gaining momentum, and their endeavors turned toward surface coal mining.
In 1948, the Snyder brothers expanded their operations by acquiring the Glacial Sand & Gravel Company in Kittanning, PA.
The year 1953 marked the formation of Allegheny Mineral Corp. and the opening of the company’s first limestone quarry. Over the next several decades, the company added limestone quarries in Harrisville and Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania.
In 1975, the Snyder family reorganized and created a parent company, Snyder Associated Companies, Inc. The holding company currently has multi-generational management ranging from the second generation through the fourth generation. Charles Snyder, Jr., of the second generation, currently serves as the holding company’s chairman of the board.
As a wholly owned subsidiary of Snyder Associated Companies, Inc., Allegheny Mineral Corp. benefits from over 70 years of experience in the mining industry. Headquartered in Kittanning, PA, Allegheny Mineral Corp. continues to provide crushed and pulverized stone and other essential infrastructure materials throughout Pennsylvania, Ohio and West Virginia. Currently, Allegheny Mineral operates limestone crushing operations in Murrinsville, Harrisville, Slippery Rock, Portersville, Hilliards and Worthington, Pennsylvania.